Databases - Searching

A word to the wise: information contained in databases such as library catalogs and subscription collections of newspaper and magazine articles cannot be found in Google. Searchers for such information should look in the appropriate database(s) before resorting to Google.

In addition to these databases, the library maintains a 'Best of the Web' listing.

Biography
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index
    Index of individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 13,6 million. This subscription database is only available at the Fullerton Public Library. (FPL)
Business
  • Business Directory
    Reference USA contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S.businesses. Data can be downloaded to spreadsheets and databases.

IMPORTANT NOTICE:  When you click on this link, circumvent the request for User Name and Password by temporarily disabling your Norton Antivirus software.  Once at the RefUSA homepage, re-enable the software.

This subscription database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), and at the Fullerton Public Library.

  • Business Magazines & Newspapers (Periodicals)
    Business Source Elite provides full text for more than 1,125 business journals, Regional Business News contains full text coverage for regional business publications. Information dates back to 1985. This subscription database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), and at the Fullerton Public Library.
Career Planning
  • College Catalogs
    CollegeSource is a virtual library representing 31,719 college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools. This subscription database is only available at the Fullerton Public Library.
Fiction
  • Novelist is a fiction database that provides subject headings access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.This subscription database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), and at the Fullerton Public Library.
Homework Help
  • Curriculum Resource Center
    Facts on File is especially helpful to students and teachers researching on a variety of topics for grades K - 12. This subscription database is available both remotely, FPL cardholders only, and at the Fullerton Public Library.
  • Literary Reference Center
    Literary Reference Center Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a completely full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.This subscription database is available both remotely, FPL cardholders only, and at the Fullerton Public Library.
Legal Assistance
  • The Small Claims Adviser is service of the Legal Aid Society of Orange County & Community Legal Services. This organization provides free, civil legal services to low-income persons and seniors who live in Orange County and southeast Los Angeles County. The library offers access to the Small Claims Advisor only. This service is only available at the Fullerton Public Library.
Magazines & Newspapers (Periodicals)
  • General Reference Publications
    Masterfile Premier. This multidisciplinary database, with some peer reviewed journal articles, provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. This subscription database is available both remotely, FPL cardholders only, and at the Fullerton Public Library.
  • ProQuest Newspaper Database. Here you can find Los Angeles Times.
    This database is updated daily and it contains full-text articles from 1986. This subscription database is available both remotely, FPL cardholders only, and at the Fullerton Public Library.
  • NewsBank - America's Newspapers
    Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.
  • Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers
    Curated by the Library of Congress, this site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Medical & Health (Periodicals)
  • Consumer
    Health Source - Consumer Edition. This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from nearly 300 journals. This subscription database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), and at the Fullerton Public Library.


Document last modified: Wednesday, 31-Oct-2007 10:57:00 PST