Reference Databases

Expert, in-depth, information sources provided through FPL

New! Search our Business databases, MasterFILE, the Literary Reference Center & Health Source on your mobile smartphone!

Mobile Ebsco

In addition to these databases, the library maintains a 'Best of the Web' listing.

Business

ReferenceUSA

Reference USA contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses. Data can be downloaded to spreadsheets and databases. If you have trouble accessing ReferenceUSA, check this Help page

This database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), & at FPL.

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite provides full text for more than 1,125 business journals, Regional Business News contains full text coverage for regional business publications. Information dates back to 1985. BSE en Español. RBN en Español

This database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), & at FPL.

Books

Novelist Plus

Novelist Plus allows staff and patrons to search for their favorite titles by series, plot summary and a host of other criteria. NovelistPlus is a valuable resource to anyone trying to find both fiction and nonfiction book information. This database provides subject headings access, reviews, annotations, and much more for hundreds of thousands of titles. It also includes other content of interest to readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.

This database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), & at FPL.

Homework Help

Live Homework Help

Tutor.Com's Live Homework Help is available for Kindergarten - 12th grade, college introduction level students, and adult learners 1 PM to 10 PM. This program connects students to a real live tutor. Students can receive help in math, science, social studies or English. Access from outside Fullerton Public Library will require your FPL card number.


World Book Web

The World Book site gives you access to World Book Info Finder, Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos, World Book for Kids, World Book Reference Center and World Book Discover.


Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference resource. It provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. LRC is a full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else.This subscription database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only) and at FPL.


Ask Now

Ask A Librarian connects you with Real Librarians who are standing by 'round the clock to answer your questions.

Magazines & Newspapers (Periodicals)

Masterfile Premier

Masterfile Premier is a multidisciplinary database, with some peer reviewed journal articles, that provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. En Español.

This database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only) & at FPL.

Proquest

The ProQuest Newspaper Database will give you searchable access to the Los Angeles Times archives. This database is updated daily and it contains full-text articles from 1986.

This database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only) & at FPL.

Newsbank

NewsBank hosts contemporary newspapers. Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more with the largest collection of full-text U.S. newspapers. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and other sections.

Chronicling America

Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers. Curated by the Library of Congress, this site allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Medical & Health

Health Source

Health Source - Consumer Edition provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health from nearly 300 journals. En Español.

This database is available remotely (FPL cardholders only), & at FPL.

Legal Assistance

Small Claims Advisor

The Small Claims Advisor is service of the Legal Aid Society of Orange County & Community Legal Services. This organization provides free, civil legal services to low-income persons and seniors who live in Orange County and southeast Los Angeles County. The library offers access to the Small Claims Advisor only.

This service is only available at FPL.